Kevin Bauman – 100 Abandoned Houses

October 16, 2013 § Leave a comment

Professional Practice

Kevin Bauman is a Denver based photographer. I came across this wonderful project of his – ‘100 Abandoned Houses’. Bauman has collected these photographs of abandoned properties in Detroit. Here are a few examples:

09150404_10_xl09150402_18_xl03180804_05_xl01200602_18_xl

 

I absolutely love these photographs. The composition is perfectly central and the photos are presented in squares rather than standard sized portrait or landscape shots. What I really like is how I can relate my project to this one: the photos are both documentary style and consider some of the same aspects (some of which I covered in my mind map) – such as the wealth of a community, abandonment, dereliction and the obvious focus on buildings (although my focus is more particular).

Bauman talks about his project:

I actually began photographing abandonment in Detroit in the mid 90’s as a creative outlet, and as a way of satisfying my curiosity with the state of my home town. I had always found it to be amazing, depressing, and perplexing that a once great city could find itself in such great distress, all the while surrounded by such affluence.

To see the full 100 houses, take a look at the official website for the project. 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kevin Bauman – 100 Abandoned Houses at Tom Davidson.

meta

