Typeface Development

November 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

Professional Practice

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 15.20.38

So as the final name for my book was settled, I went ahead with designing a title to go on the front cover and certain pages in the book. I used the typeface ‘Pegasus’ – which, as you can tell by it’s title, is very Greek inspired. The typeface is sans serif and is quirky in that the letters are different sizes, and missing certain strokes. The fluency of the font reminds me of some of the shops and restaurants I saw whilst in Parga. The font however did not include accents, and one was needed over the ‘o’ to make the grammar correct for the word – pórta. Subsequently, I used an apostrophe and rotated it to make it into accent form. The shape of the accent then inspired me to create a little quirky aspect to my book – I used the apostrophe on multiple pages, and on my door imagery created for the quote page, I used it to represent a door handle.  

 

Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 15.23.00 Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 15.23.05 Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 15.23.21 Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 15.23.32 Screen Shot 2013-11-13 at 15.23.55

 

I wanted a clean, legible typeface for the rest of the information in the book. I used ‘Univers 45 Light’ which I felt gave the book a nice contemporary and professional look to it. Once aligned with my baseline grid and page headers, the book as a whole looked a lot more finished. For headings I used a larger point size, but other than that the type is consistent throughout the book. 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Typeface Development at Tom Davidson.

meta

