D&AD: Tyler, The Creator Idea Development

February 20, 2014 § Leave a comment

Professional Practice

After creating a few variations of illustrations of Tyler, The Creator, I decided to look at the brief from a more typographic aspect. I looked into the video of his acceptance speech a bit more and wrote down his words, which I will choose to portray typographically:

“Yo. I’m excited as f**k right now, yo. I’ve wanted this s**t….since I was nine. I’m ‘bout to cry. Uhhh…this is for my lil brother Earl, he’s not here right now. Um…I can’t…I really can’t believe I’m here right now. I didn’t write a thank you speech…but…uhh…I don’t know…to all the kids watchin, to all the kids that’s watchin, you can do this s**t yourself, be yourself, f**k the system, Golf Wang. Thank you.”

I did a few sketches to try and gain an idea of the sort of thing I would like to create:

tumblr_n1b9r8zI3k1rhh5h0o2_1280

Then I started to mock up these ideas as photoshop experiments. They are first experiments so will be developed further.

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 00.47.11 Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 00.48.22

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 15.35.04 Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 15.35.30

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 00.53.29

For these I used quite a crude font because of Tyler’s childish and edgy character. I experimented with various textures to use for the background, using imagery associated with Tyler or Odd Future, an American hip-hop collective that Tyler is a part of. For one of the quotes I used a tie dye texture and experimented with different layering techniques, because Tyler wore a tie dye t-shirt to the 2011 VMA’s. For one I used a wolf fur texture because of the ‘Wolf Gang’ idea which is heavily induced by Tyler, the full name of Odd Future being OFWGKTA (Odd Future Wolf Gang, Kill Them All) and for another I used donut sprinkles because that is part of the imagery that is used in the Odd Future logo quite a lot. I included the XL recordings logo and the MTV VMA logo at the bottom of each design. This imagery stems from my initial research.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading D&AD: Tyler, The Creator Idea Development at Tom Davidson.

meta

