Reinforcing the Brand: Development

February 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

Thinking & Practice

I have created a mood board identifying the overall image associated with the brand Ciroc. In effect it shows the connotations of the lifestyle associated with the vodka, but more importantly values that I will need to transcribe to the packaging design. As you can see, the colour scheme is very cool and uses a lot of different shades of blue – something that will definitely feature in my designs. Most of the images here relate to a luxury lifestyle. I also included colour and texture swatches to gain an idea of how I will approach the design.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 14.07.37

Here are some sketches I did to get down my ideas about the logo and some packaging concepts:

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 14.14.52

I decided to go with the name ‘Roc’ for the aftershave. The reasons for this are because (rather obviously) the letters feature in the word ‘Ciroc’ but also the word itself sounds  quite masculine. The other reason was that I could incorporate the blue circle which features on the Snap Frost bottle. I tried and tested different ways of putting the circle into the text to see what looked best. I used a sans serif font, but I tried a few different ones out to get an idea of what would look effective. I wanted the logo to be striking but keep in tone with the current designs. Here is the result. I am quite pleased with this; I think it looks clean and refined. In the logo I included the parent brand, so the title of the aftershave is “Roc by Ciroc: Eau de toilette pour homme (the latter meaning aftershave for men).

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 14.15.46

 

I printed out my net on A4 just to test that the dimensions were okay and it assembled logically. It worked fine – I will have to note to get rid of construction lines when I print the final design. The final design will be on A3 card.

tumblr_n1ipfbDswL1rhh5h0o1_1280

Here are some sketches I did to get an idea of layout and design, and the kinds of things I want to include on my packaging template.

Jtumblr_n1ipfbDswL1rhh5h0o2_1280

Once my logo was finished and I sketched out some ideas, I started to mock up the design. I started off by placing the logo and adding a background. I used a subtle blue gradient to keep in line with my colour scheme.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 14.17.41

I wanted to tie down the French authenticity of the brand so I used a photograph I took when I visited Paris (pictured left).

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 14.18.04

I desaturated the photo and blended it into the background. I wanted the design to be as clean as possible so I made the image almost silhouette like but with the sky still visible. I like the look of this because it gives texture to the design and nicely frames the bottom of the packaging.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 14.18.14

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reinforcing the Brand: Development at Tom Davidson.

meta

